After Microsoft developed Excel to the 2010 version, it
offered more surprises than ever. In order to deal with tons of big data, you
can’t ignore the important role Excel plays in daily work. However, both for
beginners and advanced users, there are still many useful tips and tricks that
are inevitably overlooked. Here are 20 useful Excel spreadsheet secrets you may
not know. Please note that all these functions are based on Microsoft Excel
2010.
1. One Click to
Select All
You might know how to select all by using the Ctrl + A
shortcut, but few know that with only one click of the corner button, as shown
in the screenshot below, all data will be selected in seconds.
2. Open Excel Files
in Bulk
Rather than open files one by one when you have multiple
files you need to handle, there is a handy way to open them all with one click.
Select the files you would like to open then press the Enter key on the
keyboard, all files will open simultaneously.
3. Shift Between
Different Excel Files
When you have different spreadsheets open, it’s really
annoying shifting between different files because sometimes working on the
wrong sheet can ruin the whole project. Using Ctrl + Tab you can shift between
different files freely. This function is also applicable to other files like
different Windows tabs in Firefox when opened using Windows 7.
4. Create a New
Shortcut Menu
Generally there are three shortcuts in the top menu, which
are Save, Undo Typing and Repeat Typing. However, if you want to use more
shortcuts, like Copy and Cut, you can set them up as follows:
5. Add a Diagonal
Line to a Cell
When creating a classmate address list, for example, you may
need a diagonal link in the first cell to separate different attributes of rows
and columns. How to make it? Everyone knows that Home->Font-> Borders can
change different borders for a cell, and even add different colors. However, if
you click More Borders, you will get more surprises, like a diagonal line.
Click it and save—you can now make it immediately.
6. Add More Than One
New Row or Column
You may know the way to add one new row or column, but it
really wastes a lot of time if you need to insert more than one of these by
repeating this action X number of times. The best way is to drag and select X
rows or columns (X is two or more) if you want to add X rows or columns above
or left. Right click the highlighted rows or columns and choose Insert from the
drop down menu. New rows will be inserted above the row or to the left of the
column you first selected.
7. Speedily Move and
Copy Data in Cells
If you want to move one column of data in a spreadsheet, the
fast way is to choose it and move the pointer to the border, after it turns to
a crossed arrow icon, drag to move the column freely. What if you want to copy
the data? You can press the Ctrl button before you drag to move; the new column
will copy all the selected data.
8. Speedily Delete
Blank Cells
Some default data will be blank, for various reasons. If you
need to delete these to maintain accuracy, especially when calculating the
average value, the speedy way is to filter out all blank cells and delete them
with one click. Choose the column you want to filter, go to Data->Filter,
after the downward button shows, undo Select All and then pick up the last
option, Blanks. All blank cells will show immediately. Go back to Home and
click Delete directly, all of them will be removed.
9. Vague Search with
Wild Card
You may know how to activate the speedy search by using the
shortcut Ctrl + F, but there are two main wild cards—Question Mark and
Asterisk—used in Excel spreadsheets to activate a vague search. This is used
when you are not sure about the target result. Question Mark stands for one
character and Asterisk represents one or more characters. What if you need to
search Question Mark and Asterisk as a target result? Don’t forget add a Wave
Line in front.
10. Generate a Unique
Value in a Column
You are aware of the key function of Filter, but few people
use the Advanced Filter, which will be repeatedly applied when you need to
filter a unique value from data in a column. Click to choose the column and go
to Data->Advanced. A pop-up window will show up. As the screenshot shows,
click Copy to another location, which should be in accord with the second red
rectangular area. Then specify the target location by typing the value or
clicking the area-choosing button. In this example, the unique age can be
generated from Column C and show in Column E. Don’t forget to choose Unique
records only, then click OK. The unique value showing in column E can be the
contrast of the original data in C, that’s the reason why it is recommended to
copy to another location.
11. Input Restriction
with Data Validation Function
In order to retain the validity of data, sometimes you need
to restrict the input value and offer some tips for further steps. For example,
age in this sheet should be whole numbers and all people participating in this
survey should be between 18 and 60 years old. To ensure that data outside of
this age range isn’t entered, go to Data->Data Validation->Setting, input
the conditions and shift to Input Message to give prompts like, “Please input
your age with whole number, which should range from 18 to 60.” Users will get
this prompt when hanging the pointer in this area and get a warning message if
the inputted information is unqualified.
12. Fast Navigation
with Ctrl + Arrow Button
When you click Ctrl + any arrow button on the keyboard, you
can jump to the edge of the sheet in different directions. If you want to jump
to the bottom line of the data, just try to click Ctrl + downward button.
13. Transpose Data
from a Row to a Column
You would use this feature if you want to transpose data to
get a better display; however, retyping all data would be the last thing you
would need to do if you know how to use the Transpose function in Paste. Here’s
how: copy the area you want to transpose, move the pointer to another blank
location. Go to Home->Paste->Transpose, please note that this function
won’t activate until you copy the data first.
14. Hide Data Thoroughly
Almost all users know how to hide data by right clicking to
select the Hide function, but this can be easily noticed if there is only a
little bit of data. The best and easiest way to hide data thoroughly is to use
the Format Cells function. Choose the area and go to Home->Font->Open
Format Cells->Number Tab->Custom->Type ;;; -> Click OK, then all
the values in the area will be invisible, and can only be found in the preview
area next to the Function button.
15. Compose Text with
&
Complicated formulation is unnecessary, as long as you know
how to use &. You can compose any text freely with this symbol. Below I
have four columns with different texts, but what if I want to compose them to
one value in one cell? First, locate the cell that is to show the composed
result, use the formulation with & as shown in the screenshot below. Click
Enter: all texts in A2, B2, C2 and D2 will be composed together to become
LizaUSA25@ in F2.
16. Transforming the
Case of Text
With all the tricks shared here, I’ve tried my best to avoid
complicated formulation. But there are still some simple and easy to use
formulations to show you, like UPPER, LOWER and PROPER, which can transform
texts for different purposes. UPPER will capitalize all characters, LOWER can
change text to all lower case and PROPER will only capitalize the first
character of a word.
17. Input Values
Starting with 0
When an input value starts with zero, Excel will delete the
zero by default. Rather than reset the Format Cells, this problem can be easily
solved by adding a single quote mark ahead of the first zero, as shown.
18. Speed up
Inputting Complicated Terms with AutoCorrect
If you need to repeat the same value and it is complicated
to input, the best way is to use the AutoCorrect function, which will replace
your text with the correct text. Take my name, Liza Brown, for example, which
can be replaced by LZ. Therefore, every time I input LZ, it can autocorrect to
Liza Brown. Go to File->Options->Proofing->AutoCorrect Options and
input Replace text with correct text in the red rectangular area, as below.
19. One Click to Get
More Status
Most users know how to check the data status in the bottom
of an Excel sheet, like Average and Sum Value. However, do you know you can
move the pointer to the bottom tab and right click to get more status, as shown
below?
20. Rename a Sheet
Using Double Click
There are multiple ways to rename sheets, and most users
will right click to choose Rename, which actually wastes a lot of time. The
best way is to just click twice, then you can rename it directly.